DIY Spice Rack Transformation

Hello Everyone!

Today I want to share with you guys a cute little DIY project i did this week. I’ve been working on settling in to my apartment for the winter and trying to enhance my space. I don’t have a lot of spare funds right now so i try to do as much as i can with as little as possible. This also makes me feel so much more accomplished when i’m done!

Ive been very lucky recently because I’ve had a lot of things fall into my lap. When I moved into my apartment, it came furnished. It was also equipped with an ancient garage filled to the brim with dirty knickknacks. I’ve been digging through it since we moved in and I can always find something to repurpose if I look hard enough.

The downside to this is an apartment filled with things I like, just not that much. One of my current goals is to try to live a more minimalist life. All these odds and ends I own with no purpose are not helping me with that. I try to take note throughout the day of things that I’m not fond of looking at and try to change them.

I started with the first culprit…my dreaded spice rack.

Spice rack vsco

LOOK AT THAT. What is that? gross. It’s not even within 10 feet of my stove! How inconvenient is that?

My goals for this project were to get rid of all the horrible packaging and make everything more visible. Also, put it near my freakin’ stove. I wanted it to add to the room while being useful at the same time.
I got these spice bottles from my (almost) mother in law. They were a wedding present from her aunt, filled and placed on a beautiful spice rack. She recently found them when cleaning out a very old cabin and while the bottles survived, the rack did not. This is what the looked liked when they showed up to my house. Yuck.

dirty bottles diy

So I got to scrubbing! I filled an old pan with dish soap and super hot water and let them soak until all the gunk was easy to scrub off. I would have soaked them and threw them in the dishwasher but my apartment is in a time vortex and doesn’t have one. I rinsed them with cold water and laid them out to dry. P.S, Make sure they are completely dry before you put any spices in them!
Look How Pretty!

cleaning dirty bottles soapy water

Next, I filled all the jars up with my spices and stored the extras away out of sight until I need to refill. These jars are nice because they are pretty airtight, especially for their age. (They’re around 35 years old!) I didn’t label them because of their significance. I can also identify all the spices I have so it wasn’t a big deal.
Next dilemma.
Where do they go? This was a struggle. I was particularly worried about these because of their age and wanted them to be secure. I did circles around my apartment for days until I finally stumbled up something to put them in. It’s a tray that was here when I moved in that is SO PROBLEMATIC. its been floating from room to room taking up space. Finally, i figured out what to do with it.

wooden Spice Rack tea garlic

The Low Down: 

I was able to store all my cooking necessities right near my stove and not have to worry about anything getting knocked over! If you’re wondering why i have egg shells in there, i rinse them and keep them to grind up for my plants. They love it!

spices on spice rack

Ive also been on the look out for a place to store my tea’s and this worked perfectly! I also have my vanilla, measuring spoons and garlic. I use TONS of garlic when i cook, it makes everything taste amazing not to mention its great for you. I kept two of my spices in the same container but took the labels off to match. I even have a few extra empties so i will have to pick up something new to cook with!

spice rack 2 spices

So all in all, this ended up costing me nothing! Not to bad for a girl with no talent!

Thank you so much for reading! Have you guys been dying anything recently? Let me know in the comments!

The empress

15 thoughts on “DIY Spice Rack Transformation

  1. What an amazing transformation! I’m moving into a new flat soon and I’ve been looking at Pinterest at various kitchen storage ideas – this reminded me of some of the things I’ve pinned 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an amazing DIY and ive never seen anything like it before; awesome how you can repurpose and renovate basically anything! Also, totally with you on the garlic front; the more the better – I will put garlic in basically anything!!

    Lovely blog, I’ve followed and can’t wait to see more of your posts; if you had the time to check out my blog I’d be SO greatful, but if you don’t then don’t worry! So glad I found your blog & I look forward to reading more posts!💓

    Soph

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment